I saw the dead, the great and the small, standing before the throne, and they opened books. The sea gave up the dead who were in it. Death and his Realm gave up the dead who were in them. And they were judged, each one according to his works.
(Revelation 20:12-13)

Europe

Oh, we remember home. The landscape! The sky! How beautiful it was. How well we were doing. How we feared for it, and how much it scared us. Now all is gone. We made ourselves comfortable in time after our time. The ruins have been cleaned. The hopes have been conserved. We are believing with our bones, hair and skin. Our common past is as true as it gets. Come, let‘s remember it together.

For the last time, we assemble our audience around the campfire for a swansong on the good old "Old World". Our holy European octagon raft provides safe space for 25 people, and the liturgy will be held in English or German on different days. Please reserve your seats before it is, was and will be too late.

Displaced into a fictional future after the end of physical existence, GOG / MAGOG 4 invites a small group of guests to join a virtual seminar on latest European history. The lesson takes the form of a post-Christian liturgy - combining communal singing, recitation of Bible passages and ritual actions like washing our hands, eating bread chips and throwing the towel. Throughout, the audience is led through four topical fields of knowledge (or lack thereof): desolidarization and social bankrupcy, xenophobia and the „migration war“, ecological catastrophe and the transfer of power to artificial intelligence and robotics.

The piece is soaked in evangelical friendliness and references to physical finitude and concludes in a collective death mediation. Only after a final farewell song audience members will receive their educational credit points and are commended to dispose of their mortal remains. Europe is dying, long live Europe!

By & with

Christopher Hotti Böhm (Multimedia/Sound), Brandon Miller (Songs), Marina Miller Dessau (Performance), Juri Rendler (Light), Moran Sanderovich (Artistic Design), Arne Vogelgesang (Performance/3D), Robert Wolf (Technical Lead/Light). Kerstin Böttcher (Public Relations), Nils Bröer (Photography), ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro (Production), Nora Gores (Press), Turgut Kocaman (Assistance), Christin Striegler (Graphic Design), Karl Wedemeyer (Video Engineering), Johanna Werheid (Assistance).

A production by internil in cooperation with Theaterdiscounter Berlin. Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation/Doppelpass Fund and through Kofinanzierungsfonds des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.

Und ich sah die Toten, Groß und Klein, stehen vor dem Thron, und Bücher wurden aufgetan. Und das Meer gab die Toten heraus, die darin waren, und der Tod und sein Reich gaben die Toten heraus, die darin waren; und sie wurden gerichtet, ein jeder nach seinen Werken.
(Offenbarung 20:12-13)

Europa

Oh, wir erinnern uns an die Heimat. Die Landschaft! Der Himmel! Wie schön sie doch war. Wie gut es uns ging. Wie viel Angst wir hatten um sie, und vor ihr. Jetzt ist alles vorbei. Wir haben uns eingerichtet in der Zeit nach unserer Zeit. Die Ruinen sind gewaschen. Die Hoffnungen sind konserviert. Wir glauben mit Knochen und Haaren und Haut. Unsere vergangene Zukunft ist so wahr wie es nur geht. Kommt, wir erinnern uns gemeinsam an sie.

Zum letzten Mal versammeln wir das Publikum um das Lagerfeuer zum Abgesang auf die "Alte Welt". Unser heiliges europäisches Oktagonfloß bietet Platz für 25 Gäste, die Liturgie wird an unterschiedlichen Tagen auf deutsch oder englisch gehalten. Bitte reservieren Sie Ihre Plätze, bevor es zu spät ist, war und sein wird.

Versetzt in eine fiktive Zukunft nach dem Ende körperlicher Existenz, bittett GOG / MAGOG 4 eine je kleine Publikumsgruppe in ein virtuelles Geschichtslehrprogramm über den Niedergang Europas. In Form einer postchristlichen Liturgie, die Rezitation von Bibelstellen, gemeinsames Liedersingen und rituelle Gemeinschaftshandlungen wie Hände-Waschen, Brotchips-Essen oder Das-Handtuch-Werfen verknüpft, führt die Performance durch vier Themenblöcke: Entsolidarisierung und sozialer Bankrott, Fremdenangst und „Migrationskrieg“, ökologische Katastrophe und Machtübergabe an künstliche Intelligenz und Robotik.

Das Stück ist durchtränkt von sektenhafter Freundlichkeit und Verweisen auf körperliche Endlichkeit und endet in einer gemeinschaftlichen Todesmediation aller Anwesenden, bevor ihnen ihre erworbenen Bildungscredits gutgeschrieben und die Entsorgung ihrer temporären fleischlichen Hüllen empfohlen wird. Europa stirbt, lang lebe Europa!

Von & mit

Christopher Hotti Böhm (Multimedia/Sound), Brandon Miller (Lieder), Marina Miller Dessau (Darstellung), Juri Rendler (Licht), Moran Sanderovich (Ausstattung/Objekte), Arne Vogelgesang (Darstellung/3D), Robert Wolf (Technische Leitung/Licht). Kerstin Böttcher (Öffentlichkeitsarbeit), Nils Bröer (Fotografie), ehrliche arbeit – freies Kulturbüro (Produktion), Nora Gores (Presse), Turgut Kocaman (Assistenz), Christin Striegler (Grafik), Karl Wedemeyer (Videotechnik), Johanna Werheid (Assistenz).

Eine Produktion von internil in Kooperation mit dem Theaterdiscounter Berlin. Gefördert im Fonds Doppelpass der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und durch den Kofinanzierungsfonds des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.